Fujifilm Instax Mini 7s Review

Instax Mini Edit 1

This little gem of a camera is quite an eyebrow raiser. When I pull it out, I get the usual quizzical expressions, and once the camera spits out the picture, that really seems to get everyone excited. Personally, I haven’t tried out any polaroid cameras or film, but I think the Fujifilm Instax Mini series are magical in their own way. What they share in common with polaroids, are not so much quality or size of film, but that you are able to capture those cherishing moments that you want to remember right at that very moment. And you can physically have it in your hand to share it with your friends and family. As long as the camera is able to do that I’m happy…but of course… I still have my eye on getting an SX-70. 😉

Technical Stuff:

Name: Fujifilm Instax Mini 7s (There is also a Instax Mini 25, Instax Mini 50, and Instax Wide 200 and 210)

Film Size: 62 x 46mm (Usually compared to the size of a credit card)

Focusing Range: 0.6m – ∞

Shutter Speed: 1/60 sec.

Exposure: Control dial with settings for: Indoor/Dark, Cloudy/Shady, Fine, and Clear

Flash: Built-in, Constant firing flash (Automatic light adjustment)
Effective flash range: 0.6 – 2.7m

Power Supply: LRG/AA-size 1.5V alkaline batteries x4

Dimensions and Weight: 119.5 x 121.5 x 70.5 mm(W x H x D)/320g (without batteries, strap and film pack)

Accessories: A strap

(Instax mini 7s. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.fujifilm.com/products/instant_photo/cameras/instax_mini_7s/)

Instax Mini Edit 2

Things to keep in mind:

After using this camera for awhile, you’ll start to learn how to play with the exposure control so that your photos don’t come out overexposed, or underexposed.

My first shot with my 7s: Overexposed. Even though it was a sunny day and I shot with the “clear” exposure option.

First Instant Pic

Underexposed: I tried to add a yellow tint to this pic by holding up a yellow filter in front of the flash. It went all sorts of wrong. Plus you can’t really see my highly appraised model: domo-kun.

Underexposed

Overexposed but it created a pink tint effect which I like. The car wheel ruins it though.

Dead Bird

Properly Exposed: I usually try to shoot a photo with the exposure a setting down to get the right colors.

Lonely Tree

* Another trick I use is covering the flash with black tape. Unfortunately, the flash for the 7s flashes every time. Sometimes depending on how much light I need for the photo, I cover the flash halfway or sometimes I cover it completely. The black tape is not the most aesthetic accessory, but it does the job. I heard you can also use a spoon to diffuse the light. Use what ever floats your boat!

Instax Mini Edit 3

A very frustrating issue with the Instax 7 is the parallax error. Which is caused by the misalignment between the viewfinder and the lens. Since both are not connected, if you look through the view finder and take a picture, you will most likely find that your shot is a bit shifted to the left. I conquer this problem by first looking into the viewfinder to estimate how far or close I want to be from the subject, then I take away my eye from the viewfinder and move the camera a bit to the right. When it comes down to it, sometimes it helps to not look into the viewfinder at all.

Instead of displaying my instant pictures flat on the wall. I hang them on a string with mini clothes pins.

Instax Pic

I’ve also read something about doing multiple exposures with the instax mini. One way to do it is to take a picture, and before the camera spits out the film, open the back of the camera so that it stops the film from being deposited. Then close the back and take another photo. I still haven’t experimented with this technique. I’m wondering if you have to change the exposure for each photo so that it doesn’t come out overexposed.

The Fujifilm Instax Mini 7s is a camera very far from perfect. It offers very few manual settings, and its inaccurate view finder and constant flash adds to the complexity of working a camera that has simple functions. Ignoring these imperfections will allow you to enjoy the magic this camera has to to offer. It’s fun, simple, and it records the moments you intend to remember for a lifetime.

Instax Pic 2

Also, Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply :)