Camera Bag: Pentax K1000

Pentax Expansion

This won’t be a complete review, but more of a “getting to know you” approach towards the camera Pentax K1000. I got this camera towards the end of 2011 and only now is when I’m really starting to get into it. It took me long enough, because so far this has been an excellent learning experience. Until May 2013, I had only developed 2 rolls of film and they were very disappointing, which explains why I dropped the camera for some time. I got the lighting off completely on the rolls, and most shots were super underexposed. Plus, I didn’t get them on a cd so I couldn’t fix them on the computer. At that time I was familiar with the words aperture, shutter speed, ISO and all that good stuff, but I wasn’t so versed on how they were all intertwined. I recently developed 2 more rolls, and I was quite happy with the results.

Pentax K1000: Specifications (Courtesy of butkus.org)
The Pentax K1000 seems to have the reputation for being the perfect beginner camera. It has relatively simple functions, it is quite solid, and my favorite part about it is its lens mount because it just so happened to work in my favor. My father owned a Chinon which was manufactured after the likeness of a Pentax K1000, and so they can use the same interchangeable lenses. Which worked out well because along with the Chinon camera, my dad had 2 lenses which I quickly took as my own.

Type: 35mm SLR with built in through-the-lens exposure meter.

Film and Negative Size Standard Lens: 35mm film. 24mm x 36mm. SMC Pentax-M 50mm f 12 with fully-automatic diaphragm. Filter size: 49mm. Minimum focusing distance: 45cm.

Shutter Viewfinder: Rubberized silk focal plane shutter. Speeds: B, 1 to 1/1000 sec.

Reflex Mirror: Pentaprism finder with cross-microprism split-image focusing screen. 0.88x magnification
with 50mm standard lens focused at infinity.

Lens Mount Film Advance: Pentax bayonet mount. Ratchet-type rapid-wind lever. 160″ throw and 10″ play. “Cocked” indicator alongside shutter release button.

Exposure Counter Film Rewind: Automatic reset. Rapid-rewind crank for speedy film take-up.

DSC_2335

Pentax K1000: Lenses
My favorite lens to use with the Pentax K1000 is a 50mm, they don’t call it a nifty fifty for nothing. I secretly like using my Pentax more than my dslr because I don’t have a 50mm lens for it. The bokeh on these lenses are delicious, and I’m interested in what kind of bokeh my 135mm lens will be able to make.

Here are some of the pics I took:
Film: Kodak 400 Color film

Woman
I took this picture in one of the rolls that were significantly underexposed. The only way to save it was to turn into black and white, and fix some contrasty areas here and there.

02710014

02710033

02710004 02710005 02710006 02710007 02710009 02710023 02710037 02710039 02710040 02710044

The Cost:
Shooting film is definitely very costly, and as a college student, it is most definitely not in my budget. However, after seeing these results my last wish is to stop shooting film. An alternative to going to a camera store and asking to develop plus receive a cd/prints is to develop the film yourself and scan your own film. This is something I am looking out to do in the future to save $$$. There are also many other alternatives being discovered where you can even scan your developed film using a dslr!
Pentax K1000: Final Thoughts
This camera worked out great for someone like me who is relatively a newbie in photography. Its simple functions are exactly what you need to practice the fundamentals of photography. What’s more, you have no screen to check a photo you just took, which makes you think about your shots and makes you not want to waste any film. It has a Pentax bayonet mount which can be used with Chinon lenses if you have those, and I believe you can put your old Pentax lenses on newer Pentax cameras. It’s also a tad bit heavy, but still feels solid in your hands. This camera is probably not for everyone, but it has been working well for me. There are manyyyyy other 35mm cameras out there that you can buy, but I hope you will be willing to give the Pentax K1000 a try. Happy shooting! 🙂
One thought on “Camera Bag: Pentax K1000”

Leave a Reply :)

