You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin Insights [Episodes 41-50] + Ending Thoughts

Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.47.51 PM

It’s quite sad that I am so happy to see the ending of this drama, and not for any pleasant reasons. I was going into it with expectations that I usually hold for family dramas. Development of characters and story lines would be much slower than usual, the romance will not start to sizzle till the ending, and there would be an immense number of drama tropes present. Sure. Fine. I can live with that, i’ve gotten through it plenty of times. I was also expecting it to focus a lot more on a family learning to live again after the death of the father, and a young daughter struggling to make it in the acting world. However, You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin gave me the wrong serving. It’s like ordering a burger without cheese even though you are perfectly fine with cheese, then having to find out when you get your burger…it contains cheese. You’re fine with it, but it’s really not what you expected and not at all what you wanted. YTBLSS focused on the repercussions of actions rather than repentance and complete acknowledgement of ones wrongdoings. Instead of us trying to move pass the pain, the characters spent most of their time trying to inflict it on others while hiding their own. It was complete chaos.

This will probably be the worst drama I’ve seen in 2013 because I don’t think any of the upcoming dramas could be any worse and steal that honor (though I shouldn’t speak so soon). Now, instead of focusing on how horrible YTBLSS was, the only good thing I can vouch for is..errrr..ah yes the acting. I really wish Lee Mi Sook would pick a likable character for her next project. I don’t like to let reel spill over to real, but when it does, it’s either because I ship a couple so hard, or because an actor keeps picking crappy characters thereby making me think they are like that in real life. Any who, Lee Mi Sook still did a fantastic job of portraying Mi Ryung. I have never seen a drama character who wears heels inside their house as some type of indoor slipper, but this lady sure was radiating elegance from her style of clothes to her walk. Go Doo Shim also did an incredible job playing the loving mother of a family made up of hormonal women. I have no complaints for these two veteran actors. Jo Jung Suk also did a wonderful job in his role, and his chemistry with IU actually wasn’t gag worthy like I initially thought it would be. It was sweet and cute. Now as for IU, she has definitely grown as an actress from Dream High till now. I don’t want to drag other non-related idols into this but I personally think she has more talent than Suzy in the acting department and definitely in the singing department. She can naturally switch between funny and cute, to sad and angry.

As for the other actors and actresses, I wish I could mention every one..I really wish, but that would take eons so i’ll briefly name them. I will always love Yoo In Na in whatever she acts in..her voice can get a bit screechy and annoying but she does well. Loved her outfits in this drama. I’m interested in seeing Son Tae Young push her acting to an even higher level. I’ve never seen her in another work, so i’m curious as to how well she can really act since her role in YTBLSS didn’t require too much. JUNG WOO. MY BOY. He was boss. Can’t wait to see him in Reply to Me 1997. Lee Ji Hoon it’s nice to see you again. Don’t get stuck playing the secretary role, we have enough actors who are shackled by those roles, but you did well. And there is a 1 in a billion chance they will ever see this let alone care about my critique so let’s move on.

I apologize in advance for how strong my emotions may seem when addressing certain characters. I was behind for a good 6 episodes and when I finally got around to watching it, I was greatly appalled at how I managed to actually commit to this drama from what it was worth. Like really, how did I even survive? I basically wasted approximately 50 hours of my life. Now if you have taken heed to this warning, please proceed to read my thoughts about the different episodes. 

Episode 41
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.12.01 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.12.56 PM
*
Haha, Yu Shin you bought the food didn’t you? Smart gal.
*Oh my gosh Woo Joo’s father is so immature. I can’t stand looking at his face.
*Why is Chan Woo’s mom still at it?? They are already married. Lady, give it a rest. jeez
*Why did Yeon Ah answer yes?? You are not dating him chic, back off.
*Joon Ho I love that you and Soon Shin have recognized your feelings for each other, yay, but on the other hand, you can’t go around saying only to Soon Shin that you’re dating her while Yeon Ah is going around saying that you’re dating her. Even if you don’t admit it to the public that you’re dating Soon Shin, you need to take care of Yeon Ah’s side. She is totally wrapping you around her finger.
*Oh no, Joon Ho’s mom saw them holding hands. Oh boy.
*And it begins. The whole I’m dating the daughter of dad’s mistress fiesta. I wonder how many episodes it’s going to take for this to blow over. Joon Ho’s mom has been acting funny for too many episodes now, it would be weird if she just lets it go like that.
*WHY WHY WHY WHY IS IT THAT YEON AH IS YET AGAIN HEARING IMPORTANT INFORMATION? WHY?
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.13.56 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.14.11 PM
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.14.12 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.14.57 PM

Episode 42:
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.26.33 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.28.19 PM
*
That’s right Chan Mi, lay it down for Yeon Ah. She’s always in someone else’s business other than her own. And what is with the whole seniority system in South Korea. I get that you should respect people older than you, but it puts so much pressure on the younger ones. “Oh i’m older than you so you have to do what I say.” I don’t find that fair.
*Lol he told the secretary to get lost.
*Omo omo, autograph smack on the lips.
*Oh my gosh Halmeoni, just stop please. If you want that immature guy to be in your family so bad, how about you marry him? You’re still alive and kicking so go for it. Don’t you see how he is, why are you trying to force something that wasn’t good in the first place just so the child can have a father? What’s better. A child growing up with just her mother but her grandmother and great-grandmother to help, or a child growing up with her mother hating the father and a bunch of arguing and not to mention a witch as a mother in law. Sheesh. This granny has got to be the worst grandparent I’ve ever run into in a drama.
*Joon Ho’s mother is so rude. Extremely rude. There are 2 options Soon Shin has. Either stay away from Joon Ho, or fight with him. Let’s see which one she’ll choose.
*Just because you try to break them up Yeon Ah, doesn’t mean that after he’s going to go running back to you. She’s such a snake. WHY IN THE WORLD IS SHE THE ONLY ONE ALWAYS FINDING OUT THE SECRETS??
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.30.11 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.30.34 PM

Episode 43
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.37.08 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.38.17 PM
*
I wonder of Mi Ryung will choose her fake daughter or her real daughter. It’s come down to either making her daughter unhappy or losing her daughter completely.
*You didn’t threaten her Yeon Ah? Really? You asked her to ‘help you’ with the condition that if she didn’t you would basically ruin her career and the relationship she has built with Soon Shin.
*Oh my gosh Chan Mi…you and your big mouth never fail. How could you tell Soon Shin’s mother that’s Soon Shin is in love.
*Lol, I can see that Chan Woo is trying so hard not to laugh during Yu Shin’s drunken scene.
*HEY GUYS. MI RYUNG IS DRINKING AGAIN!
*Awww Mi Ryung-shi. Cry me a river.
*She’s not your wife you dumb nut. Sheesh. I hate this guy so much.
*I didn’t think there would be someone who could make me more angrier than Yeon Ah yet there is. This man..I want to sever his legs.
*No seriously, I don’t think I can finish this episode. I’m so heated. Woo Joo’s father is…wow i’m steaming. I’m so angry at the fact that a drama actually created such a character. WHY?
*OH NO THIS EPISODE IS OFF THE HOOK. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS REALLY? MAKJANG MAKJANG EVERYWHERE. STUPID CHARACTERS EVERYWHERE. NONSENSICAL PLOT LINES EVERY FREAKING WHERE.
*Cookies..mhmm I like cookies Yi Jung. Whose the one pretending to be a tough cookie? I feel like getting real nasty. I guess she has a reason to be upset, but coming to someones workplace, spilling out details about them including your own families business is not classy at all.
*I am sick of hearing Yi Jung’s voice so i’ll just play Adele’s I Set Fire to the Rain as I imagine myself setting fire to certain characters in this drama.
*No Joon Ho all these issues are something! Stop saying they are nothing. You and Soon Shin’s relationship depends on what happens between your parents and Mi Ryung. This is why there are so many issues. No one is sitting down and just talking it out. You are just like your father, you are avoiding talking and trying to fix the problem together with your partner. How the heck are you going to fix your parents’ problem. Please tell me. Because you can’t even protect Soon Shin let alone your parents. And stop telling Soon Shin not to waver. I hope YOU yourself don’t waver through the thick and thin. Goodness gracious I’m so upset.
*NG Yeon Ah. That’s right. She is definitely No Good.
*Cafe Boss, you need to ease up on all those vibrant shirts…
*Everything was snatched from you? NO NO NO NO. Joon Ho was never yours after you dumped him. You only care about people having their attention on you. Instead of learning to work around another person’s destiny so you can find yours, you’re stuck trying to go against it. If you would have asked for forgiveness from Joon Ho and end it cleanly you wouldn’t be as pitiful as you are now. If you really thought of Mi Ryung as a mother, you would be happy that she finally found the one blood line that she tried to cut ties with. You will try to protect Soon Shin from the madness the celebrity life has to offer. But no, you chose to be selfish and bring others down when the only person you are really hurting is yourself. Mamma mia, someone please come calm me down.
*Mr. Reporter man, whatever your name is, you are very sleazy. You are talking about this girl’s dead father with a smirk on your face like you are just here to get some good dish and you have no kind of respect for her lost or her feelings.
*I don’t think I can go on. 7 more episodes and I want to rip my eyes out and distort my ears.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.39.11 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.39.51 PM

Episode 44
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.45.47 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.46.34 PM
*
I really don’t understand why drama character’s sit down and take crap from people especially when they are talking trash. You are being manipulated by them. How about getting up and just walking away?
*Halmeoni. Seriously. Who’s the better guy? Your cheating grandson in law who is snobby and childish or your next door neighbor who has been to jail before but works hard, cares for you and your family and all around lives a good life. You are so blind to see that your granddaughter might be getting a second chance at love and a chance at finding a proper father for Woo Joo, but you are all for her getting back together with a cheating man.
*Yea Mi Ryung courageously told Soon Shin about who her father is but she left out one important dirty little secret.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.47.06 PM
*Woooooow Halmeoni, that was super disrespectful. You’re granddaughter can’t ignore someone who’s having a hard time? EXCUSE ME? What are you implying?? Jin Wook was doing perfectly fine until he got mixed up with YOUR messed up family. What the helllllllllll. REALLY HALMEONI? REALLY? NOW YOU’RE ASKING HIM TO MOVE OUT AND NOW YOU’RE SAYING SORRY IT WAS A MISTAKE.
*Awww that was a really nice moment between Jin Wook and Woo Joo. This is why he is my favorite character. I really wished the drama would have softened Woo Joo’s heart towards him a little bit earlier in the game, but by now I know that’s asking for too much.
*What kind of song are they playing during Hye Shin’s confession?? Well whatever, I love this couple. LOL he screamed. I love this guy. Awwww they are both tearing up. Love them both..not her daughter, but her yes.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.48.14 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.49.04 PM
*So Mr. Joon Ho, are you planning on breaking up with Soon Shin without telling her why you’re breaking up with her because you think that’s protecting her? Ok. Yup. Sure. Go ahead. I hate you all.
*HOW DELUDED CAN YOU POSSIBLY BE??? YEON AH-SHI, JOON HO IS NOT GOING BACK TO YOUUUUU. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?? Oh my word. And Joon Ho, why are you going to such a deluded person for advice on what you should do.
*Girl don’t smile, he’s going to have fun with you then break your heart. Man oh man, if a guy did that to me I would be furious. If you wanna break up with her since you think that’s the only way out of this then do it Joon Ho. You’re such a wimp. When Soon Shin finally finds out what Mi Ryung has done and wonders “why did Joon Ho break up with me right BEFORE everything came out?…oh maybe he knew already” She is going to be very angry at you. Instead if you’re there to support her and hold her up as the storm passes, she won’t think too much on the rumors about her and you. Bunch of idiots frolicking around in this drama.
*He’s going to the amusement park with a suit? And how small is South Korea that people can just hop in a car and go to an amusement park. It takes a good 2 hours to get to Six Flags from where I live…and I definitely never wake up one morning and tell my parents, “Hey, let’s go to six flags today!” Yeah, my parents would laugh.
*Wow. Joon Ho you look like you’re slowly dying on the inside.
*I can’t even look at you right now Joon Ho. I’m very disappointed. You know this big secret is going to come out sooner or later…why don’t you tell Soon Shin. Is Mi Ryung going to tell her. HA. I’ll be waiting for that. If she hears it from the news. I don’t think I can forgive you. If he was still just a president to her then I could see it being none of his business to reveal to her this secret, but he is now something more than that. How is leaving her flat out like that suppose to help her??
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.49.36 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.49.44 PM

Episode 45
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.57.33 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.58.13 PM
*
Wait wait wait my brother. You broke up with Soon Shin because you’re under the impression that Yeon Ah will ruin her career?? You were scared of Yeon Ah?? WHAT??? What about the reporter who doesn’t care about your measly little feelings. Once he gets his “research”, all of you are going down. That’s it. What you have done Joon Ho is unforgivable. Someone transport me into this drama right now so I can deal with these people myself. Oh wait..but I speak English..Well..I guess I will have to use brute force to get my point across.
*This halmeoni ruins every thing.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.59.34 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 6.00.28 PM
*Noooo Yeon Ah, excuse me? Who is the person always getting ng’s because she can’t concentrate. And you’re telling Soon Shin to concentrate? Listen you wicked woman, you didn’t win this. You’ve won a battle, but you won’t win the war. Joon Ho and Soon Shin will obviously end up together again.
*What the. I just realized that the Park’s restaurant name is Mexi cana…uhhh…why would they name their fried chicken place that?
*OMO. How could I have spoken of this scene before it happened. I remember saying I couldn’t wait for Soon Shin to just stay with her birth mother in her bed…but I wanted them to talk things out and pour out their feelings. Soon Shin is knocked out lol. And Mi Ryung is crying -__-
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 6.00.46 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 6.02.06 PM
*Once a cheater, always a cheater. I’m not even surprised he came back to Hye Shin with an alternative motive. I hope Woo Joo opens up that big mouth of hers and tells her mom.
*Wow I knew she was going to say she forgot something. So she’s gonna overhear what they are talking about right? Ugh. So sick of this.
*THE LAST SECRET IS OUT. Is it the last secret? I don’t even know. Neither do I care. I wonder if Mi Ryung is going to attempt suicide because she looks like she’s completely broken.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 6.02.38 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 5.56.29 PM

Episode 46
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 7.27.29 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 7.28.31 PM
*
At least you know yourself that you’re pathetic Joon Ho. I still don’t forgive you.
*She’s baaaaaaack. You know the Soon Shin who likes to give death glares. Oh my gosh, she has gone nuts. Whoa, IU, you are doing well. WAE WAE WAEEEE
*One knee Mi Ryung? You should be flat on your face right now.
*After being completely pissed off at this drama since I stayed away from it for a few weeks, i’m finding all of this highly amusing today.
*Chan Woo’s father is the best.
*When is Soon Shin going to be done filming that drama? It’s a nuisance. And the secretary is getting super friendly friendly with Chan Mi..He put his hands on her face, In dramaland, that can land you in the hospital popping out a baby.
*You know the situation is bad if Yi Jung herself is saying that someone is acting childish. These parents need to get it together like really.
*YEAAAAAA. THAT’S THE JOON HO I LOVE. Yell it out loud and clear. Declare it! Yeon Ah thinks she will get away with this. Not a chance.
*Wow is everyone going to admit they’re pathetic in this episode? Yeon Ah we all know what you are sweety, and I promise you the words to describe you are not nice.
*It is episode 46 and you are just realizing that scheming and trying to push yourself unto someone will not leave you happy in the end?
*This lady never learns. Still only thinking about reputation. You will become even more wicked in the public eye since you keep trying to freaking hide it!!!
*I feel disgusted myself Soon Shin. She’s a psycho.
*Woo Joo is coming around to liking Jin Wook..I can see it on her face. She’s stopped with her screechy yelling.
*Oh snap, Soon Shin you’re gonna go to the police? You should. Mi Ryung needs to be taught a lesson. I mean really how will this harm you? It’s all on her mostly. Yeah people will talk and pity you..So I guess that’s what will ultimately  destroy your career.
*Don’t even go looking for her you punk.
*This makes no sense? Why did you break up with her then if you were planning on comforting her when she was hurt? I don’t understandddddd, I just dooooooon’t.
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 8.22.21 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 8.40.09 PM

Episode 47
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 9.43.46 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 9.53.51 PM
*
What is up with all the marriage issues. Ugh, it’s not time for this.
*Halmeoni, you think yelling at Mi Ryung and pulling her hair will solve anything??
*What happened to Yi Jung wanting to become an actress? Seriously what does she plan on doing with her life. You can’t live off your parents money forever.
*Woo Joo keeps ordering that shave iced dessert and it looks really good.
*IU’s voice melts me.
*LOL, why is it that Mi Ryung is usually right on point about other people but not about herself. She’s right, both her and Yeon Ah look pitiful.
*How is that Hye Shin dresses pretty well, Yu Shin dresses extremely well, but Soon Shin dresses like a bum. Child. What the heck are you wearing.
*Again. Halmeoni, how are you gonna make Mi Ryung suffer the same? Unless by “accident” you kill Soon Shin.
*Ok I think all the secrets are out now. The most important people who need to know, know them now.
*Are the mother’s going to duke it out? Oh brother.
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 9.41.13 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 9.34.11 PM

Episode 48:
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.10.59 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.09.19 PM
*
I knew it. I knew Soon Shin would start to blame her birth.
*Is Yu Shin and company going to see the news when they visit the restaurant? Oh no..she looked on her phone. Uh oh. Her little vacation has just been ruined.
*Thank God for the Cafe Boss!
*Well at least one character has changed! Yu Shin, i’m so proud of you.
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.33.11 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.25.15 PM
*I can’t believe I found out about Il Do and Mi Ryung’s connection till now. Wow. Anyways, she’s losing everyone one by one.
*I bet Mi Ryung is gonna move back to the country..I mean that’s the only option I see for her. Go back to her roots and learn how to become human again at her old age.
*In the previous two episodes we were playing find the long lost daughter. Now we’re trying to find the long lost mother. Aishhhh.
*I really feel Soon Shin is the only one who can change her. Do you see how much nicer she was when Soon Shin was around. But what kills me is that she needs Soon Shin around to realize how ugly her heart is. Lady, you’re too old for this.
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.44.40 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.44.14 PM
*You’re at the lowest point in your life Mi Ryung. It’s time to live earnestly. It’s time to live to make yourself happy and your daughter even if she doesn’t want to see you. Become the person that she will be proud of. If this drama kills her off, I will be highly upset. I don’t think they will though, but i’m sure at this point the thought of ending her life is crossing her mind.
Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.13.48 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 10.15.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 11.03.19 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-21 at 11.13.55 PM

Episode 49
Screen Shot 2013-09-01 at 5.46.51 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.34.37 PM
*I am just astounded that they haven’t thought of her hometown.
*Awwwwwwwwww
*How come Yeon Ah never considered Cafe Boss as a prospective mate? Why is he stuck in the friend zone? Well he’s too good for her anyways.
*Chan Woo’s mother is still the same.
*HALMEONI. HAVE YOU STILL NOT REALIZED WHAT KIND OF PERSON YOUR SO CALLED SON IN LAW IS??? JESUS CHRIST, I HAVE HAD IT WITH THIS CHARACTER. SHE’S SO STUPID. ELDER OR NO ELDER, SHE IS WORST THAN CHAN WOO’S MOM.
*Finally Woo Joo spoke up.
*I love how Jin Wook goes down on a knee so that Woo Joo can lower her head and speak to him while he looks up to her. It might be seem like something trivial to point out, but it can be symbolic in a way. Jin Gook is trying to reach her heart, bending down lower than her is him showing submission. And I think kids like to feel like they are the bigger person once in a while which is not possible when we as adults look down and talk to them.
*Finally Halmeoni. You are realizing whose fault this is. It’s not entirely your fault, but you are so judgmental that it has affected the future generations.
*Jin Wook went down on his knee again. I love this man.
*Poor child.
*d’Awwwwww i feel like crying. She let go of her mom’s hand and took his.
*II Do is looking beat up.
*Let me guess…Yi Jung told her dad to meet her at the restaurant too, and then she’s going to force them to reconcile .
*Whoa Soon Shin you’re drinking alone? Yup you are A-OK.
*Wow. I loved Soon Shin’s little speech to Mi Ryung. I foresaw the whole “you’re my mother” thing, but I really felt the sincere feelings here. And Mi Ryung’s sincere tears. She was trying to keep herself composed and hold up her wall, but Soon Shin brought it down. And like I said before and also II Do said, she is the only person Mi Ryung has. She is the only person who can change Mi Ryung for the better. I must also give kudos to Joon Ho for comforting Soon Shin this episode. That’s where you belong Joon Ho. There are different ways to protect someone, and you being there for Soon Shin is protecting her enough. Now unto the last episode!
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.36.18 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.37.29 PM

Episode 50
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.43.59 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.44.34 PM
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.45.35 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.46.47 PM
*Translation of Soon Shin’s Pleadings: YTBLSS, You ran away from your original purpose. Please don’t make me hate you more than I do now! You were suppose to be a good show…You…YOU WERE SUPPOSE TO BE THE FREAKING BEST. Please.. Just this once. DO NOT DISAPPOINT ME!
*Yayy Mi Ryung is back in Seoul
*II Do really man? Tell the press the reporter lied? Really?? I know you’re trying to make her feel better but this is how everything started!! You coming up with your bright ideas! Till the end you are still trying to hide things?? AISHHH.
*LOL. I thought that Soon Shin was smiling and laughing with Yeon Ah..I wish someone could see my face..turns out it was the drama. Wow. How was I tricked by that? That’s how anxious I am to see this drama finish.
*Oh boy. Was Chan Woo’s mom feeling symptoms that Yu Shin is suppose to have?? She took a preggo test at work?!!! Well I guess if you gotta know, you just gotta know. Lolz.
*Halmeoni, that’s the only thing you’re useful for. For dreaming.
*LOL. My face would be the same Yu Shin. I mean most guys get all excited..at least I think so. But for the woman..that’s like saying farewell to your life.
*Why is the Halmeoni having so much screen time??? Where is Joon Ho and Soon Shin. I need a make-out session before this ends. No kidding.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.50.10 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.51.01 PM
*Lol Yu Shin
*AWWWWW JIN WOOK. YOU ARE TEARING ME APART.
*Oh my gosh. Soon Shin’s omma, you can’t be coming in unannounced into people’s room like that!! Lol, she practically flung him off.
*Ohhh this is where Soon Shin’s mom first saw Mi Ryung physically.
*Whoa whoa whoa. Cafe Boss without the glasses. whoaaa.
*Wow. I’m finally at peace. I love that they had the mom voice over the ending of this drama.
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.52.18 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.52.40 PM
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.54.06 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.55.18 PM
Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.48.21 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.55.40 PM

What kind of ending was that? It’s like in one day, everyone suddenly learned their purpose in life and decided to move on. Yeah right. Yu Shin and Chan Woo are now expecting, yet Chan Woo’s mother still seems the same. I mean, we really can’t expect her to change at her old age. And I’m not sure why the whole bickering between her and her husband was even presented?? It’s not like they came back from their trip being lovey dovey and forgiving one another so what was the point of that. Seems like Yeon Ah still hasn’t gotten over Joon Ho but she’s trying since she slightly smiled when he patted her on the shoulder and proceeded to leave. She never apologized to Soon Shin even when she had a direct involvement in how Soon Shin ended up like this in the first place. Hye Shin and Jin Wook are still dating and it seems his imagination with him sitting at the dinner table with her and Woo Joo will come true. Halmeoni is probably still ruining everyone’s life. Joon Ho’s father now wants to act like a good husband and father..whatever, better late than never. Joon Ho will soon propose to Soon Shin. I almost yelped when I saw her in a wedding dress, but then I saw what Joon Ho was wearing and quickly calmed down. Soon Shin now accepts Mi Ryung as her mother.

Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.53.07 PM

As for Mi Ryung. She’s punishing herself by residing in the countryside and avoiding people at all cost. She seems to now realize that she was living her life in vain and has repented of her sins. It seems she hasn’t forgiven herself yet, which is a shame. So we basically watched all of this to get to this ambiguous point. In a way it’s realistic. Someone her age will spend time thinking about their regrets and carrying guilt rather than living in the moment. I was not expecting her to wake up one morning and become a better person, but I wanted the drama to paint her heart black, and slowly paint it over with white. I guess it did in a way.

Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 4.51.08 PM

That’s it for You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin. Props to you if you managed to finish all 50 episodes. If you’ve been reading my reactions to this drama all this time thank you! You are the best 🙂

Official English You’re the Best Lee Soon ShinWebsite: http://english.kbs.co.kr/tv/main.html?tv_code=13
Official Korean You’re the Best Lee Soon ShinWebsite: http://www.kbs.co.kr/drama/soonsin/

*All photos used in this post belong to Korean Broadcasting System (KBS).

3 thoughts on “You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin Insights [Episodes 41-50] + Ending Thoughts”

  1. As usual, your rants and ramblings are friggin’ awesome. You should’ve continued typing Yeona’s name in lowercase because that’s seriously how low she’s gotten, ha.

    Even though she totally blew sh*t up to the nth power, I think the reason I can somewhat forgive Miryung is that, in a way, she’s become enlightened. It’s not the guilt that clears the skies for her, but an epiphany which by and large transcends all other emotions. She finally comes to understand that only by starting over on a clean slate can she free herself from her internal struggles. It took forever, but it happened. And it’s realistic.

    Soonshin’s adoptive mother, on the other hand… Yes, she’s arguably one of the better characters, but that 180-degree turn she took earlier in the drama is something I just can’t reconcile with. When all is said and done, I’m glad she came back around, even if it took another 180-degree turn for that to happen.

    Like you said, I also wish this drama focused more on the “healing” aspect instead of dialing up the pain and suffering. Makjang is makjang, but this one totally lost its direction into borderline sadism.

    I think everyone who finished this drama deserves a cookie. (:

  2. Lol Thanks!! You are totally on point with Mi Ryung, I got pretty lazy with analyzing her character by the end of this post xD I’m still astounded that the very lady who is suppose to be this self-absorbed and reputation hungry character was right on point with everyone’s weakness. Like when she called out Joon Ho’s mom on not correcting Yi Jung, or when she warned yeon ah 😉 of the pitfall she will take if she keeps trying to force something that should not be forced. But then again, isn’t that like everyone; quick to see the faults of others rather than our own.

    I might have finished up all my cookies while watching this drama T^T..you know since eating cookies is wayyyyy more interesting than watching this.

    1. I see what you did there. 😉

      HAHA, it’s so weird how she’s levelheaded when it comes to anything that doesn’t concern her. =__= I guess we’re all like that, just not to her extent.

Leave a Reply :)

