Digital Adventures.

Digital Adventures

It’s my first photography post of the new year and I figured I should show the pictures I take using my digital camera since I haven’t finished up my recent rolls of film. My Nikon D3100 is basically a a dslr for a beginner. I did not want to go in spending $600+ on a bulky camera that I had no idea how to use, so I settled for the D3100 which is still bulky but manageable… Although, now I’m finding myself feeling a bit greedy and wanting a more expensive one. I would recommend this camera for people looking to have a little bit more control when shooting, the point is to get you out of auto mode!!

Currently I am in the process of a 52 weeks project which basically means I have to take a picture every week. Because of school I’ve been lagging behind but I realized that the process is more important than just trying to meet a deadline. Some of the pictures I’ve included below are part of my project and are on my Flickr, but most are not. I have to take a lot of self-portraits for my 52 weeks, and I’m not ready to put them on here, haha…You can actually find the link to my Flickr somewhere in my blog πŸ˜‰

I’ve been doing this project for a good 7 months now and I can say that I’ve grown quite a lot. I’m still not anywhere near where I want to be, but gradually I’m developing my own style. I guess the type of photography I have taken a liking to is conceptual/slice of life sort of stuff. I refuse to box myself into categories but if I had to name it, it would be that. Enjoy!

Limitless

DSC_4452

DSC_5194 copy

DSC_4451

DSC_5197 copy 1

DSC_4576

DSC_3312

DSC_2207 copy

Untitled-2 wb

DSC_5091 copy

DSC_5401 copy

DSC_5385 copy

6 thoughts on “Digital Adventures.

  1. Hi! Nice pictures!

    I got a D3000 but unfortunately, I still can’t figure out how to use a DSLR *smacks myself for buying a DSLR* I read tutorials and they said that the best thing is to get a new lens if I want to create a blurry effect. How do you create your blurry effects? Thanks!

    Reply
  2. Hello there, and thank you πŸ™‚
    Ahhh the blurry effect is known as bokeh (cool Japanese term), or if you want the technical term, a shallow depth of field also gives you the blurry effect. I’m guessing your camera came with a kit lens which is 18-55mm (zoom). If you set the zoom at 50mm or up, you can achieve the blurry effect, though since it’s a kit lens, it is very limited.

    All of the pictures in this post except for the first one, I took using my 50mm lens which is a prime lens and is notorious for it’s bokeh. All that means is that it is fixed at a certain focal length, it is not a zoom. Another thing that goes hand in hand with having the right focal length is the right aperture. A small aperture (1.8, 2, 2.8 and a few more) creates a very shallow depth of field.

    Now this doesn’t mean you have to have a 50mm to achieve this, there are other lenses that can also work, starting with the one you have. I highly suggest really learning more about your D3000 and how aperture, shutter speed, and ISO all work together. You can create some amazing stuff with a kit lens, and it’s perfect for learning. If you have any more questions feel free to ask! I looove talking about this stuff ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply :)

