It’s Raining Dramas

go ara collage

These days I’ve had to remind myself that I still run a blog and even if my thoughts are not that all significant, at one point I did enjoy writing about dramas. I honestly don’t know what happened this year. School dampened my mood and I’ve gotten really lazy especially with the heat. Although, the Northeast weather has been very generous this year. It’s weird, but it seems I forgot how to analyze and think critically about what i’m watching…and I think it’s because I started to convince myself that I’ll watch a drama without thinking too much about it and save the weighty expositions for another time, and then I stopped thinking altogether. So far there have been a plentiful amount of decent dramas airing, yet I find myself starting shows and not finishing them which I rarely did before. School starts up again in a little less than a month, and I don’t want to leave my blog to the likes of dust mites and cobwebs. I think one reason I haven’t been thinking critically about the dramas I’ve been watching is due to the sheer amount of rom-coms that have been airing this year. It’s one of those situations where you already know how things are going to map out: First the bickering, then the cute, heart thumping moments, then a bit of drama, and tada, everyone is barfing rainbows. I guess you could go on about how the actors are doing and the cinematography and what not..but what about the writing? I can only think of one drama that has really moved me with its writing and that award can go to Secret Love Affair, which I haven’t even finished yet! Everything else seems to be operating on a subpar level…there, but not quite there.

I would usually do a Dramascope post in this case, but I really want to just post something so I can stop feeling bad about my inconsistency and laziness. Hope everyone is finding something they can enjoy to watch this summer 🙂

Secret Love Affair

I was keeping up with this as it aired and somehow fell behind. SLA’s writing and directing is superb, and I have no idea why it’s taking me so long to finish it. It was my first time watching Kim Hee Ae who is freaking amazing as Oh Hye Won. The conflicts feel so real and the characters so alive. Not to mention the music score is fantastic. It’s a a noona-donsaeng drama that is mature and intriguing in it’s own way. I’m pretty much almost done with it but it’s one of the dramas that have stood out to me the most so far this year because it’s execution is spot on.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 12.26.10 AM copy

Angel Eyes
The best part of this drama was the childhood segment. I don’t blame Goo Hye Sun’s (Who has gotten soooo much better!) or Lee Sang Yoon’s acting, but rather after their characters became adults they took a turn for the worst. Honestly I don’t know what more there is to say about it. After awhile it started getting really mundane and repetitive. I love you, no I don’t love you, I mean I really do love you but I can’t be with you. Ok, I’m back let’s resume our love. Wait, why are you changing your mind? I thought you loved me?… Cry me a river Soo Wan and just marry the man.

Screen Shot 2013-12-28 at 6.11.56 PM copy

Doctor Stranger
At first it was seriously entertaining..didn’t make sense but was fun to watch nonetheless. This drama is BAD, BAD, BAD. All sorts of bad. And not the good kind of bad, it’s the very bad kind of bad. I want to erase it from my memory, quick go get me a man in black! I stuck it out for Lee Jong Suk because I really like him, but boy I didn’t sign up for this! I don’t even know where to begin on explaining how this train wreck managed to remain a disaster for it’s entire run. I guess that’s the only compliment i can give to Doctor Stranger, it was consistently terrible. It was like jumping off a cliff in slow motion, you know the misfortune that awaits you, but it’s taking you so long to get there that the plunge to death feels more painful because you have time to think about it. Sorry for the grotesque thought, but it was just that disappointing. Whatever power gave Park Hoon his magical medical abilities…I think I need to tap into that.

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 3.18.24 AM Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 3.18.37 AM

High school King of Savvy
I’m slowly falling behind on this one but I must fight through it! It’s so funny because in reality I see a bit of myself in the female lea. To a certain extent, her ditzy nature and her slouch are things we share in common. I’m actually not weirded out by the age difference which a lot of people seem to have gripes with.. I mean she isn’t even 30 yet so it’s not that terrible. Seo In Guk is wonderful in rom-coms and I’m so happy to see him back again. I was a little wary of watching Soo Hyuk act because he just looks so vampire-ish model-esqe in anything that he does that I was wondering if he can really tap into the emotions of a character. Well, he’s playing a cold-hearted jerk so it’s kind of hard to mess that up. Lee Ha Na has really brought the quirky character of Soo Young to life. I’m happy I got a chance to see her in this role for the first time because she is totally rocking it. This show reminds me of a cartoon picture I once saw that states: Adults are just kids with money. And to a certain extent it is very true. I haven’t worked in the corporate world, but judging from what I’ve heard, I think a high schooler passing for an employee at a large company can actually work. As for such a high position like director…ehhh you can try your luck.  

 

I am also watching Joseon Gunman, Fated to Love You, It’s Okay, It’s Love, High school Love On and Pleasantly Surprised. All of which I will save to talk about in another post.

HAPPY DRAMA WATCHING ❤

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 3.55.31 PM copy

8 thoughts on “It’s Raining Dramas

  1. I hope you get out of your drama-watching slump soon. 🙂 I loved SLA but it took me long to finish it too! I have no idea why I kept delaying watching the remaining episodes. I loved it though, it felt very real and unique. I’m loving High School King of Savvy!! Seo In Guk is awesome!! And I love the story and the comedy! I don’t know how many episodes you have watched but I don’t think Lee Soo Hyuk’s character is only a cold-hearted jerk. I think he is a deeper character and that LSH is playing him really will, which I didn’t expect to be honest. I’m also watching Fated To Love You and loving it so much! It is so very cute!! And the actors are doing such a wonderful job! There’s also a currently airing drama, Marriage Not Dating. It’s the best one out of all the dramas I’m currently watching! It has a great story and awesome acting! It is very funny, I think you should watch it.

    I had fun reading your post! New follower ^_^

    ~Hira

    Reply
    • Kamsahamnida Hira-shi !! ❤ After I finally got this post out, i'm feeling inspired again so hopefully my slump has finished. Glad I am not the only one who seems to be watching SLA at a very slow pace. I think the best time to watch it is on a night where you're huddled up in bed sipping tea. The problem is it's hot over where I live so I can't really do this haha. Oh and thanks for indirectly reminding me that Mr. Vampire's name is Soo Hyuk and not whatever I wrote up top! I think i'm far enough in the drama to know he's not a complete jerk and I think a part of me just finds it easier labeling him as one because I kinda feel bad he won't be able to get the girl :/ And yep, Soo Hyuk is definitely not turning me off acting wise, yet I want to see how far he can actually go so I will be looking out for him in future projects.

      Fated to Love You is superb. I like it much better than the Taiwanese version which I don't regret watching since it's one of the dramas I watched very early into my addiction. Hoping though when the melo comes along, the Korean version can not let it drag out too long. I've heard nothing but good reports about Marriage Not Dating, but the reason I haven't bothered to try it out is because i'm watching wayyyy to many things. And there are more dramas that I'm interested in which will be starting right around the corner. School + dramas don't mix, so I don't want too much on my plate. If it ends well, I will see if I can marathon it at a later time. Thanks again for the comment and for following! 😀

      Reply
      • I agree, with the best time to watch SLA thing. It is very hot here too! Most days it is higher than 40*C but since the start of monsoon it has decreased to around 35*C. I wish winters would come soon! Hehe Mr. Vampire 😉 You know how these stars have multiple names, I thought what you had wrote was right too, that maybe that was his name too. But I used the one I was used to 😛 He was really amazing in White Christmas, that’s where I saw him first.

        I haven’t seen the Taiwanese version so the story is completely new for me. I am enjoying it though so maybe I will give the Taiwanese version a try too… I get what you mean. I’m on vacation right now, I only have 3 hour classes in the evening, but even then it’s hard for me to juggle studies and dramas! I hope when you do come around to watching MND, you enjoy it as much as I am enjoying it! 🙂 And you’re welcome! ^_^

        Reply
  2. LOL “consistently terrible”! I didn’t watch DocStranger but it was fun keeping tabs on the WTFery and it seemed like that was more entertaining than watching the drama itself. I liked SLA too and it did take me awhile to finish it as well. Kim Hee Ae is amazing and I loved her in the team’s previous effort A Wife’s Credentials which if you haven’t seen, I totally recommend. It’s more warm, more charming and accessible than SLA. Good luck with juggling school & everything else!

    Reply
    • Oh yesss, you know how funny Tumblr people can get when it comes to trolling dramas xD I did the same with Hotel King. I also heard good things about A Wife’s Credentials..didn’t know it was only 16 episodes!! I would have tried it out sooner. I guess it will be one of those dramas that I watch when I have down time and nothing else to feast over. Thanks a bunch ^^

      Reply

Leave a Reply :)

